Mikel, Iwobi, Moses Make Rohr’s Final 23-Man Squad For World Cup


Super Eagles technical adviser, Gernot Rohr has named his final 23-man squad that will represent Nigeria at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Rohr made the announcement after Nigeria’s 2-1 lose to England at Wembley in an international friendly match on Saturday.

The usual regular players that made the squad include Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Leon Balogun, William Troost-Ekong, Alex Iwobi, Victor Moses, Odion Ighalo, Brian Idowu, and a few to mention.

Meanwhile, Mikel Agu, Moses Simon and Ola Aina failed to make the final cut but they could be called upon when Nigeria continues their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier later this year.

The Super Eagles is expected to play Czech Republic on Tuesday in their final World Cup warmup matches before flying to Russia, where they will play Croatia on June 16.

Super Eagles 23-man squad for 2018 World Cup:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna, Spain), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Enyimba, Nigeria), Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: William Troost-Ekong and Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor, Turkey), Tyronne Ebuehi (Ado Den Haag, Holland), Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge KSV, Belgium), Bryan Idowu (Amkar Perm, Russia), Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France), Leon Balogun (Brighton, England), Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa, Turkey)

Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Tianjin Teda, China), Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England), Oghenekaro Etebo (Las Palmas, Spain), John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel), Joel Obi (Torino, Italy)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Russia), Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City), Victor Moses (Chelsea, England), Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai, China), Alex Iwobi (Arsenal, England), Simeon Nwankwo (Crotone, Italy)

Facebook Comments


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here